» News

Skate New Zealand Volunteer

Posted July 20, 2019
Artistic Skating General News

Skate New Zealand Volunteer

Skate New Zealand Volunteer

SHERYLL BEDFORD a long standing member of the New Plymouth Roller Sports Club was presented with the Skate New Zealand Volunteer Award at the closing ceremony for the New Zealand National Championships held in New Plymouth in July.

Sheryll is on the New Plymouth club Artistic Committee and also administers the learn to skate sessions hosted during school terms for members of the public wishing to learn to skate. The sessions are geared to young beginners and offer a series of skill levels. This programme is open to all skaters but is also a pre-requisite is skaters wish pursue artistic skating within the club. 

With the Artistic Roller Skating Championships coming to Taranaki this year, Sheryll has been heavily involved in assisting with the preparation for this event held at the TSB Stadium.

Sheryll is pictured above with Roger Boulcott, Skate New Zealand Chairperson.

Results from the week long event for New Plymouth Skaters;

  • Sheryll received the Volunteer of Year Trophy
  • Mila Toole received the Youngest Competitor Cup
  • All skaters exceeded expectations in their events and the following were lucky enough to receive medals.
  • Violet Butler – 2nd Primary Solo Dance
  • Bryah Edwin – 3rd Primary Solo Dance
  • Laurie Edwin – 3rd Esquire Solo Dance
  • Alex McCallum – 2nd Preliminary Solo Dance
  • Mila Toole – 2nd Tots Solo Dance
  • Lydia Hinz – 3rd Junior Freeskating
  • Olivia Bernet – 3rd Youth Freeskating
  • Rock-etts – 3rd in National Open Quartet. (Lily & Bryah Edwin, Laura Butler & Mila Toole)