» News

NZ Secondary School Inline Hockey Championships

NZ Secondary School Inline Hockey Championships

The NZSSS Inline Hockey Championships took place over the May 19/20 weekend in New Plymouth. The event attracted seven teams from the North Island representing Waihi College, Hillcrest High School, Hamilton Boys’s High School. Hamilton Girls High School, New Plymouth Boy’s High School and combined teams from Horowhenua and Taranaki.

The teams played a round robin event with semi and final games on Sunday. The combined division was won by Taranaki Combined.

The Championship Division saw the top four teams playing in semi and finals. These teams were: Waihi College, Hamilton Boy’s High School, Hillcrest High School and New Plymouth Boys High School.

The final results were:

First Place: Hamilton Boys High School
Second Place: Hillcrest High School
Third Place: New Plymouth Boys High School
Fourth Place: Waihi College

This year was the 15th year the event has been held starting in 2004 in Hamilton.

A special tribute to Mr Ken Lockhart was made with the presentation of two plaques, to mark Ken’s involvement in developing the sport within the New Plymouth Boy’s High School while a member of staff and also a for his support and involvement within the Ravens Club in New Plymouth.

The plaques were awarded in two categories:

  • The Ken Lockhart Commemorative Award for “People’s Choice
  • The Ken Lockhart Commemorative Award for “Most Valuable Player

Both awards were presented by Barbara Lockhart.

Recipients were:
Jana Kivell (Hillcrest High School) Most Valuable Player Award
Maddie Fox (Hamilton Girls High School) Players Choice Award

The club and organisers are indebted to the New Plymouth Ravens club for underwriting the event, providing their facility and event expertise.
Sincerest thanks to Tara Potter, Regional Sports Director, Taranaki Secondary Sports Association for providing First Aid backup on Saturday, John Pennington for medical expertise and First Aid on Saturday night, Julia Craig (scorebench), Craig Hayward, Willy Harvey, Peter Cayzer, Mike Gilliver, Craig Henson, Alan Henderson for referee duties and the Krutz family for the many hours spent volunteering at the venue. A number of additional club members, Ravens Club Chair and Committee gave their time to ensure the event was a success. Thanks to Peter Cayzer for organising and providing event management during the weekend and for his preparation prior.

To the participants and schools. our sincerest thank you for entering the New Zealand Secondary School Inline Hockey Championships, thank you for your fairplay and friendship and congratulations to the winning team.

Click on an image to enlarge: